Black Saturday Tea

It being Black Saturday, I wanted to make a black meal. But I didn’t plan ahead. Also, because of all days, I ran out of dark soy sauce today, this is all I could come up with:

Fusilli is easy to cook to I’m not gonna go into the details of how to cook it – set pot on hob with a little water inside. Turn switch to full whack. Boil water in electric kettle, just enough to cook pasta. Once water boils, pour it into the hot hob and then dump in the fusilli to be cooked.

Personally, I prefer getting the quick-cook type of pasta. Not only does it cook faster, it also has a bouncier bite.

So, with the lack of my blackening agent i.e. dark soy sauce, I attempted to blacken the green beans and mushrooms ‘naturally’. When setting the fusilli boiling pot on the hob, I also set a non-stick pot on the next hob and turned the switch to the max as well. While I was preparing the ingredients, that pot had all the time to get really hot. Finally, when the time was right, in went the beans, mushrooms, a small hunk of butter and patience.

Tick-tock, tick-tock. Sit and wait for the lovelies to get blackish, whilst tossing them about every now and then.

I did the same with the beef mince (which cannot be seen in the photograph) – marinating it first with basil, cornflour, salt and pepper. Then, dumping everything in, after I got the blackened beans and mushrooms out.

Most importantly, not forgetting the last step of getting everything into the pot for a final toss about. If I had my blackening agent, it would’ve been the perfect black saturday tea-time snack. :/

If only.

About skinnynigel

If this recipe works for you, let me know below! View all posts by skinnynigel

Leave a Reply

