Mummy’s Pizza

This one’s for you, Mummy. 

I remember fondly, the first time I’d ever had pizza. It was homemade, and Mummy made everything from scratch. Before I knew pre-made pizza doughs existed, I discovered the use of a rolling pin.  I sat by the dining table, as Mummy dusted the surface with flour and rolled the dough round and flat like a pro. I begged her to let me have a go, and wound up making a mess.

It was not long before Pizza Hut and other pizza delivery companies made their killing in the market, and in my house. Pizza was never the same again. Their crusts were incredibly thick and heavy, overwhelming bready and thus, unforgivingly filling.

Eventually, I grew older and found myself paying for better pizza. Better, meaning pizzas with thiner and lighter crusts, toppings laid on with love and consideration, entire faces of dough made to look beautiful. I guess good things do come with a price. Even so, good memories are priceless.

Long story short, I had some pretty good pizza a couple of days back and I thought I’d have a go at making my own.

Thin-Crust Pizza Dough

It was my friend’s birthday party two nights ago and I made six 9-inch pizzas. Here are the numbers for the dough:

  • 2.5 mugs of plain flour
  • 0.75 mugs of tepid water
  • 2 tbsp of olive oil
  • 0.5 tbsp of salt
  • 7 gms of dry yeast
Dump out the flour onto a (clean) tabletop and make a well in the centre. Pour the water into the well and using a fork, introduce the flour to the water, bit by bit. Before it gets thick, add the oil, salt and yeast. Then combine everything and knead till smooth. Once done, place into a big bowl and cover with a damp cloth for 45-60 minutes. Roll out as desired. Anything edible can go on it, so go crazy.
About skinnynigel

If this recipe works for you, let me know below! View all posts by skinnynigel

2 responses to “Mummy’s Pizza

Leave a Reply

